Nature Play SA

I took myself along to Adelaide Uni on Wednesday night to the launch of a new South Australian Government incentive Nature Play SA. I wanted to hear what special guest Richard Louv, author of ‘Last Child in the Woods; Saving Children from Nature Deficit Disorder’ and more recently ‘The Nature Principle’ had to say about the benefits of spending time in nature and the detrimental effects that results from spending too much time indoors.

In his introductory speech, the Honourable Ian Hunter said “The average South Australian child spends 4.5 hours a day in front of a screen and 2 hours outside. Maximum security prisoners spend more time outdoors than that.” I’m still staggering and shaking my head about this. Needless to say my two were sent outside to play until almost dark last night because the thought of them being worse off than those who were incarcerated just appalls me.

It got me thinking though. I’ve written about the positive effects of nature previously. But what struck me from this session was how much time I spend indoors with students, away from any natural light or greenery. I think the idea of counselling-on-the-go, whilst walking on the oval or swinging in the playground might actually work quite well.

Do you take any of your learning outside? What about family activities?

What do you do? How do you do it? What do you notice to be the benefits?

Leave a Reply

