‘H is for … Hope’

hope

I did some professional learning at a Complex Needs Clinic in Adelaide late last year and was touched by the commentary of one of the presenters.

He works with cases so extreme they board on unimaginable. His philosophy was simple though. He said “I believe most people are good. I believe most people, with the right direction will work things out for themselves. I have HOPE for the cases I work with, and am optimistic that things will get better for them as a result of the intervention I provide.”

Having worked with this clinic and a number of families from my previous place of employment I was familiar with the calibre of client who he saw in his clinic and I was touched by his statements. They stuck with me over the weekend and through the coming weeks.

I learned a valuable lesson from attending that PL – having an optimistic outlook and being hopeful that things will improve and work out in the end is a healthy perspective to have in life and one that improves wellbeing.

What do you hope for in your life?

Leave a Reply

